Event Recaps · Movie Reviews

Event Recap + Movie Review: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

Sunday, January 24, 2016 I attended a meet & greet with the cast of “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies” hosted by Hot Topic, and afterwards an advanced screening of the film hosted by Just Jared.

PRIDE-AND-PREJUDICE-AND-ZOMBIES-quad-poster

I haven’t read the book yet, but the trailer looked really interesting when I saw it on TV. I enjoy zombie movies, TV shows, and books so, naturally, I wanted to see this; even more so when I discovered that Hot Topic (Hollywood) was hosting a meet and greet with some of the cast! So, of course I just HAD to go.

I got there super early because I knew there was going to be a long line. I already had my wristband so I didn’t need to worry about that, but I really wanted to get into the advanced screening afterwards. My friends and I waited in line for a couple hours but it didn’t feel very long since we were having a good time just chatting. Even made some new friends which is always awesome. 😉

It wasn’t long until they were finally letting us into the store to meet the cast!

A video posted by Mina (@minathefangirl) on Jan 24, 2016 at 2:07pm PST

 

Lily James (who is absolutely stunning), Bella Heathcote, Matt Smith, and Douglas Booth (*swoon*) were in attendance. A lot of people were talking about how excited they were to meet Matt but the guy I had my eyes on was Douglas. 😉 ❤ I had only seem him in one movie before PPZ but always thought he was very handsome and, oh man, he is absolutely gorgeous in person. He’s also super nice and we got to chat a bit when it was my turn to meet them. Unfortunately, they didn’t allow us to take photos with the cast (which was ridiculous since a selfie only takes, what, 5 seconds to take?) so I don’t have any photo with him (one day!) BUT I found out later on that Hot Topic was live streaming the entire thing on Periscope! So at least there’s a video of me meeting the cast.

A video posted by Mina (@minathefangirl) on Jan 24, 2016 at 11:29pm PST

 

We did the basic “Hi, how are you?” as we went down the line with the cast, but I mentally stumbled a bit when I got to Douglas. He’s just that handsome, okay? Haha I love how you can still hear Douglas asking me what’s my name. I was freaking out a little and trying to remember my name because he caught me off-guard. In my mind I was going, “He’s asking for my name. Oh my god, what’s my name hang on a second” LOL He is absolutely BEAUTIFUL. And that accent, oh my god. Still fangirling over the fact that Douglas Booth knew my name for like, five seconds. Lol Then Lily was last and wow, she’s absolutely beautiful, too. Even though I was chatting with Lily already Douglas asked if I was going to watch the screening afterwards and of course I said yes. Then I told Lily that the trailer looks awesome and made me want to read the book, too.

My lovely Pride + Prejudice + Zombies poster, signed by Lily, Bella, Matt, and Douglas.

After getting our posters signed, we rushed over to the movie theater to line up for the screening. So glad my friends and I RSVP’d with Just Jared. There was a catch to attending the screening though: everyone (well, those who were on the bottom level, at least) had to be wearing zombie make-up. I didn’t really want to get made-up into a zombie but I had no choice, not if I wanted to sit closer to the front. Some of my friends opt-ed out and sat in the balcony instead, which I later wish I did because one of them got to take a couple photos with the cast as they left the theater! Ugh.

Oh well, there’s always next time. Besides, it was actually sort of fun being made up into a zombie. This group of makeup artists from the same school were the ones doing everybody’s makeup there in a sort of conveyor belt sort of way. One station was in charge of the base makeup meant to make people look pale and, well, dead; another station did contouring, and lastly, there was a station that specialized in simply applying blood effects.

The artist who did my blood effects wanted to make me look like I was “crying blood”. So creepy.

It was my first time being made into a zombie so it was definitely an interesting experience. The worst part was being unable to eat or drink anything. I only had two granola bars throughout the whole morning and afternoon so I was starving while watching the movie. I refused to eat or drink anything, however, because I didn’t want to accidentally consume any of the makeup around my mouth. Taking everything off after the screening was a whole other mission, too.

Before the screening started, Jojo and Jared spoke with the audience and introduced the cast. Lily, Bella, Matt, and Douglas took photos with the audience (the “zombies” with the best costumes and makeup were asked to stand directly behind the cast), gave PPZ prize-packs to those with the best zombie look, and then left before the screening began. I was sitting one row and one walkway away from them so I had a really good view. 🙂

L – R: Douglas Booth, Bella Heathcote, Matt Smith, Lily James

I even managed to get into a couple Just Jared photos! Second time it’s happened to me. Haha

Photos from JustJared.com

Thanks for an awesome screening, Just Jared!


 

Movie Review: (spoiler free!)

I really, really enjoyed watching “Pride + Prejudice + Zombies”. I have not read the book yet so I didn’t really know what to expect. All I knew was that it was Pride and Prejudice with a zombie twist and that was enough to pique my interest. As I said, I like watching anything with zombies in it (okay, well, to a certain extent). I love The Walking Dead and watch it regularly, I loved reading and watching “Warm Bodies”, and I love the Resident Evil games. So it was a safe bet that I would generally enjoy PPZ, too.

What I did not expect was to be laughing as much as I did during the screening. Matt Smith, in particular, is absolutely hilarious in the movie. He’s hilarious in a dorky way. Lily and Bella were so captivating in their roles as Elizabeth and Jane Bennet. I really love their fighting and action sequences, and really admire how the characters are able to act like “proper ladies” (well, mostly) but then are able to instantly switch into zombie-slayer mode and start kicking undead ass the moment the need arises. The scene at the party in particular where all the Bennet sisters have each other’s backs as they take down zombie after zombie is one of my favorites. Elizabeth Bennet is my favorite sister though. I love how she outright and stubbornly refuses to conform to society’s expectations of women.

Douglas plays Mr. Bingley, who is this handsome rich man in search of a wife. The moment he lays his eyes on Jane Bennet (Heathcote) he instantly falls in love with her. He’s a bit naive and not as capable or talented when it comes to zombie-slaying compared to the Bennet sisters or Mr. Darcy, but his innocent and carefree (especially when it comes to love) nature makes him very endearing. His friendship with Mr. Darcy is so adorable, too. They complement each other well.

Speaking of Mr. Darcy (portrayed by Sam Riley), his introductory scene was so amusing. It’s quickly made apparent that he’s a pro-zombie slayer, and its conveyed in such a shocking but funny way.

The zombies are SO creepy, too! They’re not like the zombies I’m accustomed to seeing in zombie films. I don’t want to spoil it for those who haven’t seen the movie yet, so I’ll just say these undead are definitely scarier than your average zombie.

There’s also romance and drama (as to be expected) mixed in with all the zombie chaos, so there’s a little bit of something for everybody in this film. Even if the fairly lengthy summary in the start of the film was a bit too much for my tastes, I still thoroughly enjoyed the entire movie.

Overall, I give this film an A-.

Go see it! It’s out in theaters now!

Leave a Reply

