Book Reviews

Book Review: “Tell Me Three Things” by Julie Buxbaum

V23 new typeface tagline.indd

Title: Tell Me Three Things

Author: Julie Buxbaum

Genre: Young Adult, ContemporaryRomance

Pages: 325

Copy: PurchasedHardcover, Audio Book

My Rating: 5 out of 5

Where to Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | IndigoBook DepositoryIndieBound | iBooks

Where to Find the Author: Facebook | Twitter | InstagramWebsite | Goodreads


Synopsis:

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago—the closest place she has to something like home—she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

The thing is, Jessie does need help. It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live in LA with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved? (via Goodreads)


Review:

Let me tell you three things about “Tell Me Three Things”:

  1. I absolutely adore Jessie and was surprised by how much I could relate to her.
  2. This story was super cute: it had me giggling, weeping, and squee-ing.
  3. The cover gives me the munchies.

I’ll be honest and say that the cover for this book is what first caught my attention. I mean, cute heart-shaped waffles? How could I ignore that? It also sounded like the type of story that I hadn’t read yet, but was definitely interested in. Then I discovered that Julie is set to attend Pasadena Loves YA later this year, so I thought I should give this book a shot before then. And I’m so glad I did because I ended up absolutely loving it!

From the moment I started reading I was so immersed in the story that I couldn’t stop, and when I had to I found myself constantly thinking about it and trying to figure out how it was all going to unfold. Unable to wait to get home to continue reading, I also borrowed the audio book from the library so I could listen to it at work and in the car. I wanted to always have it at hand so I could immediately jump right back into Jessie’s story. That’s how much I adore this book.

I love Julie’s writing and how she’s able to capture each of her characters’s voices and personalities so they all feel like a real person. Jessie was definitely my favorite character out of all of them because she felt so genuine, and I could definitely picture going through some of the troubles she went through. There was also so much about her character that I could relate to, especially being bullied when I was in grade school and feeling as if I could only convey the best version – and most likable version of me – through written words. I often found myself thinking, “I totally get you, Jessie. I know how that feels.” Jessie goes though SO much in such a short period of time: her mother’s death, her father remarrying, moving across the country, going to a brand new school, bullying, high school drama, but she’s able to move forward despite all that and that strength is what really made me admire her.

The whole mystery surrounding her anonymous pen(email?)pal was so intriguing and had me constantly guessing who it was! At first Julie had me thinking it was one person but then later new facts were revealed then I started questioning myself; I felt like a detective and it was actually really fun. Halfway through the book something was revealed and I just knew who it was, and I couldn’t be happier. “Tell Me Three Things” is a beautiful and heartwarming story that perfectly blends tragedy with romance, friendship, and comedy, and had me hooked from page one. You guys definitely need to pick this up ASAP!

Leave a Reply

