TBR

TBR Pile: December 2016

I know that I’ve been an awful blogger lately and I apologize. There’s been a lot going on in the past couple of months, some fangirl-related and some not. I’ve gone to a few events (recaps of those and others that I’ve put off are coming soon!) and have even been working on opening an Etsy shop with my sister. I have been writing, though just not for my blog. I’ve been working on my YA contemporary novel and tried to get a huge chunk of it done for NaNoWriMo but that didn’t happen. That doesn’t mean I’m going to stop working on it though! I will get it done. I promise. The story means too much to me to just let it die before its even had a chance to live and see the sunlight.

Anyway, I thought to help me start blogging again I’d do these TBR posts once a month (hopefully) to share what I plan to read this month! They won’t necessarily be in order of any sort.

For the month of December I chose four books, but since two of them are fairly large books I doubt I’ll finish them all. But I’m certainly going to try!


blackmoon-hires

TITLE: “Black Moon” (Zodiac Saga, Book 3)
AUTHOR: Romina Russell
SUMMARY: Book 3 in the breathtaking sci-fi space saga inspired by astrology that will stun fans of the Illuminae Files and Starbound series.

One final secret stands between Rho and the enemy. But will the devastating truth be enough to destroy her first?

Rho, the courageous visionary from House Cancer, lost nearly everything when she exposed and fought against the Marad, a mysterious terrorist group bent on destroying balance in the Zodiac Galaxy. Now, the Marad has disappeared without a trace, and an uneasy peace has been declared.

But Rho is suspicious. She believes the Master is still out there in some other form. And looming over all are the eerie visions of her mother, who died many years ago, but is now appearing to Rho in the stars.

When news of a stylish new political party supported by her best friend, Nishi, sends Rho on another journey across the galaxy, she uses it as an opportunity to hunt the hidden master and seek out information about her mother. And what she uncovers sheds light on the truth–but casts darkness upon the entire Zodiac world (via Goodreads).

Thanks to Romina, I managed to get my hands on a copy of “Black Moon” a few days early! It’s official release date is Tuesday, Dec. 6, 2016. I’ve only just recently finished the first two books in the Zodiac saga through audio, so I’m more than ready to jump into the next installment! So glad I didn’t have to wait long. Haha After all the events in “Wandering Star” I can’t wait to see what happens to Rho, Mathias, Hysan, and the rest of the characters in this next book. The narrator for the audiobooks is fantastic, too, so if you’re into audiobooks I recommend listening to these.

whatlight-cover

TITLE: “What Light”
AUTHOR: Jay Asher
SUMMARY: 
Sierra’s family runs a Christmas tree farm in Oregon—it’s a bucolic setting for a girl to grow up in, except that every year, they pack up and move to California to set up their Christmas tree lot for the season. So Sierra lives two lives: her life in Oregon and her life at Christmas. And leaving one always means missing the other. 

Until this particular Christmas, when Sierra meets Caleb, and one life eclipses the other.

By reputation, Caleb is not your perfect guy: years ago, he made an enormous mistake and has been paying for it ever since. But Sierra sees beyond Caleb’s past and becomes determined to help him find forgiveness and, maybe, redemption. As disapproval, misconceptions, and suspicions swirl around them, Caleb and Sierra discover the one thing that transcends all else: true love.

What Light is a love story that’s moving and life-affirming and completely unforgettable. (via Goodreads)

I have yet to read a Jay Asher book, but this one caught my attention because of the beautiful cover. Haha Hey, I like pretty covers! It looks and sounds like a cute holiday contemporary too so it’s perfect for the month of December. I’m sure it’ll be a quick read. Plus, on Dec. 15, 2016 he and Jennifer Niven are having a holiday book event and I really hope I can make it! It’s always lovely seeing a dear friend again and I have yet to meet Jay so that’s exciting! I’ve also been meaning to read his other book that’s more widely known, “Thirteen Reasons Why”.

lm_cover

TITLE: “Lady Midnight”
AUTHOR: Cassandra Clare
SUMMARY: 
In a kingdom by the sea…

In a secret world where half-angel warriors are sworn to fight demons, parabatai is a sacred word.

A parabatai is your partner in battle. A parabatai is your best friend. Parabatai can be everything to each other—but they can never fall in love.

Emma Carstairs is a warrior, a Shadowhunter, and the best in her generation. She lives for battle. Shoulder to shoulder with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, she patrols the streets of Los Angeles, where vampires party on the Sunset Strip, and faeries—the most powerful of supernatural creatures—teeter on the edge of open war with Shadowhunters. When the bodies of humans and faeries turn up murdered in the same way Emma’s parents were when she was a child, an uneasy alliance is formed. This is Emma’s chance for revenge—and Julian’s chance to get back his brother Mark, who is being held prisoner by the faerie Courts. All Emma, Mark, and Julian have to do is solve the murders within two weeks…and before the murderer targets them.

Their search takes Emma from sea caves full of sorcery to a dark lottery where death is dispensed. And each clue she unravels uncovers more secrets. What has Julian been hiding from her all these years? Why does Shadowhunter Law forbid parabatai to fall in love? Who really killed her parents—and can she bear to know the truth?

The darkly magical world of Shadowhunters has captured the imaginations of millions of readers across the globe. Join the adventure in Lady Midnight, the long-awaited first volume of a new trilogy from Cassandra Clare. (via Goodreads)

I know, I know. If you guys know me at all, you know that Cassie Clare is my writing idol. This book is from my all-time favorite author and is another book from my absolute favorite series: the Shadowhunter series, and I STILL HAVEN’T READ IT WHAT!? I know. Shame. It was even released the day after my birthday this year back in March and I was super excited about it because YAY NEW SHADOWHUNTER BOOKS GIMMIE MORE and it takes place in LOS ANGELES my hometown, but I STILL. HAVE NOT. READ IT. FOR SHAME. ALL THE SHAME. So I am going to seriously attempt to remedy that and read it before the year ends. I mean, it’s going to suck finishing it and having to wait until May 2017 for the next one but at least then I can stop avoiding tumblr. Ha.

tsa_cover

TITLE: “Tales of Shadowhunter Academy”
AUTHOR: Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson, Sarah Rees Brennan, Robin Wasserman
SUMMARY: 
The series follows the adventures of Simon Lewis, one of the stars of Cassandra Clare’s internationally bestselling series The Mortal Instruments , as he trains to become a Shadowhunter. Throughout the course of Simon’s education, characters from the Mortal Instruments and the The Infernal Devices will make appearances, as will characters from the upcoming The Dark Artifices series and Last Hours series. Once a mundane, then a vampire, Simon prepares to enter the next phase of his life: Shadowhunter. (via Goodreads)

Apparently it’s best if this is read before “Lady Midnight” so that’s the plan! I’ve actually been listening to this book on audio for a few weeks now and I’m currently on the third story. Ohmygosh it’s probably my favorite so far because Jace!! And the TID characters! It’s so funny and lovely and reminded me how much I love these characters and this world Cassie has created. This one I’ll definitely finish before the year’s done.


What are you planning to read this December? Let me know! I’m always looking to add more books to my endless TBR pile. Haha

Leave a Reply

