Book Reviews

Book Review: “The Nerdy and the Dirty” by B.T. Gottfred

tnatd

Title: The Nerdy and the Dirty

Author: B.T. Gottfred

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Pages: N/A

Copy: Library, ebook, Audio Book

My Rating: 4 out of 5

Where to Find It:

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | IndigoBook Depository IndieBound | iBooks

Where to Find the Author: Facebook | Twitter | InstagramWebsite | Goodreads


Synopsis:

Pen Lupo is sick and tired of hiding who she is. On the outside, Pen is popular, quiet, and deferential to her boyfriend. On the inside, however, Pen is honest, opinionated—and not quite sure that she’s like other girls. Do they have urges like she does?

His classmates may consider him a nerd, but Benedict Pendleton knows he’s destined for great things. All he has to do is find a worthy girlfriend, and his social station will be secured. Sure, Benedict is different–but that’s what he likes about himself.

When fate intervenes, both Pen and Benedict end up at the same vacation resort for winter break. Despite their differences, the two are drawn together. But is there such a thing as happily ever after for a nympho and a nerd? (via Goodreads)


Review:

This was the first B.T. Gottfred book I’ve ever read and I’m not sure what I was expecting with a book titled “The Nerdy and the Dirty” but I think I got exactly what the title promised. Haha This was definitely the most unique, amusing, honest and real story that I’ve read in a long time. And, for honesty’s sake, I’ll admit that after reading the first couple chapters, I did not like any of the characters and was worried that I would end up disliking the entire book. Don’t worry, I was wrong. 😉

All the characters were unique in their own way, but the two main characters, Pen and Benedict, who narrate the story in alternating point-of-views are definitely the most interesting. Pen is a self-proclaimed, and secret nymphomaniac and has been living her entire life as a “fake”, as she calls it. She is constantly hiding and withholding all her honest thoughts and opinions for fear of no longer fitting in among her group of friends who are the in the “popular” crowd. Whereas Benedict, who is seen as a “nerd” and only has one person he can truly call a friend, lacks social skills. He is very blunt – and often times callous – in all his social exchanges, judgemental, and pompous. Unlike Pen, Benedict is incapable of being dishonest (even if lying would be the polite thing to do).

When I was first introduced to these two characters, my initial thought was, “How could a romance possibly develop between these two very different individuals?” They were practically total opposites! But as the plot progressed and I started to learn more about Pen and Benedict (just as they started to learn more about each other, too), I realized that their personalities and quirks complemented one another really well. I really enjoyed seeing both characters grow and develop throughout the story, and seeing one character change and strengthen the other. Oh, and I really loved how the changes in both characters were represented in the subtle changes to their names at the beginning of each chapter. Very clever.

If you’re looking for a quirky, awkward, unique and unexpected romance between two people who are just as eccentric, you’ll definitely find that in this book. I was not expecting to like “The Nerdy and the Dirty” as much as I did, nor was I expecting to laugh as often as I ended up doing. This book is definitely worth checking out! (Be warned, however, that this YA is more mature than most contemporary young adult books and contains some pretty… detailed scenarios.)

One thought on “Book Review: “The Nerdy and the Dirty” by B.T. Gottfred

Leave a Reply

