TBR

TBR Pile: March 2017

Oops, I skipped January and February. Sorry guys, I told you I was still getting used to this. Haha I had planned to have this posted by the 1st but I’ve been taking care of my pup who recently got spayed.

Anyway, lately I’ve been listening to audio books for books that I meant to read last year, books I need to read for author interviews, or e-ARCs that were so graciously given to me! I’ve also posted several book reviews for the month of February and I am so proud of myself for that. 😉 On that note, I’ve also changed my reviews this year so they no longer contain spoilers! Yay!

So, without further adieu, let’s get right in to this month’s TBR Pile!


winter-falls-cover

Title: “Winter Falls” (Twin Willows Trilogy, #1)
Author: Nicole Maggi
Copy: Library, e-book
Synopsis:

Alessia Jacobs is a typical sixteen-year-old, dying to get out of her small town of Twin Willows, Maine. Things look up when a new family comes to town, but when she falls for the hot, mysterious son, Jonah, her life turns upside down.

Weird visions of transforming into an otherworldly falcon are just the beginning. Soon she learns she’s part of the Benandanti, an ancient cult of warriors with the unique power to separate their souls from their bodies and take on the forms of magnificent animals.

Alessia never would’ve suspected it, but her boring town is the site of an epic struggle between the Benandanti and the Malandanti to control powerful magic in the surrounding forest.

As Alessia is drawn into the Benandanti’s mission, her relationship with Jonah intensifies. When her two worlds collide, Alessia’s forced to weigh choices a sixteen-year-old should never have to make.


I’m participating as a blogger for the Ontario Teen Book Festival again this year, and one of the author’s I’ll be spotlighting is Nicole Maggi! I sat in one of the panels she was in last year but had not read any of her books until this one.

Title: “Warm Bodies” (Warm Bodies, #1)
Author: Isaac Marion
Copy: Library, audio book
Synopsis:

R is having a no-life crisis—he is a zombie. He has no memories, no identity, and no pulse, but he is a little different from his fellow Dead. He may occasionally eat people, but he’d rather be riding abandoned airport escalators, listening to Sinatra in the cozy 747 he calls home, or collecting souvenirs from the ruins of civilization.

And then he meets a girl.

First as his captive, then his reluctant guest, Julie is a blast of living color in R’s gray landscape, and something inside him begins to bloom. He doesn’t want to eat this girl—although she looks delicious—he wants to protect her. But their unlikely bond will cause ripples they can’t imagine, and their hopeless world won’t change without a fight.


I just recently discovered that the sequel for “Warm Bodies” was released! It’s titled “The Burning World” and I’m really looking forward to reading it. I loved the film – it’s what motivated me to read the book – and now I’m listening to the audio book to refresh my memory before I jump into the sequel. The narrator’s voice is a little more stoic and monotone than I’d prefer, but I feel that it actually fits the story in this case since he’s narrating R’s point of view. I had forgotten how funny this book is and combining that with the narrator’s monotone makes me laugh a lot!

Title: “The Lovely Reckless”
Author: Kami Garcia
Copy: Library, audio book/paperback, ARC
Synopsis:

I’ve become an expert at avoiding things that could hurt me—which means I will figure out how to stay away from Marco Leone.

Seventeen-year-old Frankie Devereux would do anything to forget the past. Haunted by the memory of her boyfriend’s death, she lives her life by one dangerous rule: Nothing matters. At least, that’s what Frankie tells herself after a reckless mistake forces her to leave her privileged life in the Heights to move in with her dad—an undercover cop. She transfers to a public high school in the Downs, where fistfights don’t faze anyone and illegal street racing is more popular than football.

Marco Leone is the fastest street racer in the Downs. Tough, sexy, and hypnotic, he makes it impossible for Frankie to ignore him—and how he makes her feel. But the risks Marco takes for his family could have devastating consequences for them both. When Frankie discovers his secret, she has to make a choice. Will she let the pain of the past determine her future? Or will she risk what little she has left to follow her heart?


I’ve had the ARC for Kami’s book for the longest but never had a chance to pick it up and start. But when I heard that the audio book came out I just had to jump at the chance to listen to it. Luckily, my local library had it available on Overdrive! I’m really excited to get into this one because I’ve always secretly liked those Fast and Furious movies. Haha

Image result for the bone witch cover

Title: “The Bone Witch”
Author: Rin Chupeco
Copy: e-ARC
Publish Date: March 7, 2017
Synopsis:

The beast raged; it punctured the air with its spite. But the girl was fiercer.

Tea is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy makes her a bone witch, who are feared and ostracized in the kingdom. For theirs is a powerful, elemental magic that can reach beyond the boundaries of the living—and of the human.

Great power comes at a price, forcing Tea to leave her homeland to train under the guidance of an older, wiser bone witch. There, Tea puts all of her energy into becoming an asha, learning to control her elemental magic and those beasts who will submit by no other force. And Tea must be strong—stronger than she even believes possible. Because war is brewing in the eight kingdoms, war that will threaten the sovereignty of her homeland…and threaten the very survival of those she loves.


I received an e-ARC of this book from Netgalley! What drew me to this book was the gorgeous cover and the author. I haven’t read any of Rin’s books yet, but I have been curious about her other book The Girl From the Well for a while now. When I saw that she had written a new non-horror book I figured why not give it a shot first.

Image result for cora carmack roar cover

Title: “ROAR”
Author: Cora Carmack
Copy: e-ARC
Publish Date: June 13, 2017
Synopsis:

In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them.

Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora’s been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honorable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people.

To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters.

Legend says that her ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. And when a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there’s a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage.

She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough.

Challenge a tempest. Survive it. And you become its master.


This is easily the 2017 book that I’ve been looking forward to the most – since last year in fact! I’ve been a huge fan of Cora since I first read her first book, “Losing It”, which is a New Adult book. That book, and Cora herself, hold a special place in my heart because they are what introduced me into the New Adult genre, which is my favorite one, second to Young Adult. When she announced that she was working on a YA fantasy, I could not contain my excitement. Now I’m reading an ARC of her book and am a proud member of her official ROAR Street Team (Yay, Stormlings!)! I’m so excited to help spread the word about this book and for all of you guys to read it when it’s released in June! This is definitely one you do NOT want to miss!


What are some of your March reads? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

