Book Reviews

{e-ARC} Book Review: “Textrovert” by Lindsey Summers

30960329

Title: Textrovert

Author: Lindsey Summers

Publisher: Kids Can Press

Release Date: May 2, 2017

Genre: Young Adult, ContemporaryRomance

Pages: N/A

Copy: e-ARC

My Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Where to Find It: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and NobleBook Depository | iBooks | Target

Where to Find the Author: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram Website | Goodreads


Synopsis:

Summer is nearly over and Keeley is about to start her senior year when disaster strikes: she picks up the wrong cell phone by mistake. 😞 Just her luck that it belongs to Talon, a totally arrogant jock 🏈 who’s just left for football camp—with her phone. Keeley doesn’t know him, but they’ll need to rely on each other to forward their messages for an entire week.

Talon is so full of himself, but Keeley quickly discovers he’s funny, too—at least his texts are. 😅 And he listens to Keeley—which is more than anyone else does. Texting Talon, she can be more than just the quiet twin sister of a popular boy. Texting Talon, she can be the outgoing person she’s always wanted to be. Soon the two are falling for each other, hard.

But when true identities are revealed and secrets are exposed, will Keeley’s feelings stay the same? (via Goodreads).


Review:

I received a free Advanced Reader’s Copy on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

The simplistically cute cover and synopsis is what drew me to request this book on NetGalley because it looked like a cute contemporary perfect for a quick read. It somewhat reached my expectations; there were certainly cute moments that I enjoyed but I also had a few issues with it.

Keeley and Talon are two seniors who accidentally switch phones at a carnival and become friends over the summer. Through texting, they grow closer and eventually start to fall for each other, but when they finally meet in person to exchange their phones, complications arise. I feel like I’ve read (or seen on TV) this kind of story so many times before, but this type of troupe, if done right, has always been enjoyable for me. Overall, it wasn’t too bad. There were some really cute moments between Keeley and Talon; some were a bit cheesy and made me roll my eyes but other times actually took me by surprise with how unexpected and different it was. Throughout the entire book I also felt I could connect with Keeley because she was worried about her future after high school. Like Keeley, I, too, had no idea what I wanted to do or what college I wanted to go to after finishing high school. I wish we explored this issue a bit more in the book but at least Keeley’s fear of the future and self-discovery wasn’t pushed aside for the romance. There was also a prominent theme of forgiveness that really impressed me because it was so unexpected. I thought Keeley and Talon acted really mature in those moments, and handled things way better than most teenagers would.

Talon’s character actually surprised me, to be quite honest. Like he says in one part of the book, he’s not just some dumb jock who only gets by with his good looks and football. He can be arrogant and a flirt, but he’s also smart, has a temper, and a few skeletons in his closet. Oh, and a weird but oddly endearing obsession with Peeps. Zach is Keeley’s twin bother and, you know how I said earlier that I felt a connection to Keeley? Well, every time she interacted with Zach I felt as if I were addressing my brother, too. It was the weirdest thing. I loved their close sibling relationship and am so glad we got a lot of that in the story.

Most of the characters were very vanilla and bland (or annoying), save for Talon’s eccentric mother who only appeared once in person, but she was easily the most interesting one there. There was also very little to no diversity in this book whatsoever. Compared to other books that I have been reading lately, I flew through this fairly quickly. Unfortunately, the main reason why I read this faster than usual is because I needed to in order to better understand what I was reading. I have never read an e-ARC with SO MANY damn mistakes and typos in my life, it nearly drove me crazy. Throughout the entire book I saw words like “oered” which was supposed to be “offered”, “fieen” was actually “fifteen”, “ve” was actually “five”, and so on. What in the world happened? Even when I type quickly I don’t make that many mistakes; why wasn’t this edited even a little? This bothered me so much that I had to deduct a whole star for it.

A cute and somewhat unique twist on a cheesy troupe, “Textrovert” was an enjoyable, quick read to help me get through a minor reading slump when I wasn’t in the mood to read anything heavy-duty. If you’re looking for a contemporary romance that’s an easy quick-read, has minor emotional depth, and don’t mind a vanilla cast of characters, you can give this one a try.

Leave a Reply

